Latest Updates

Completion Schedule

Engagement with the Pharmacy Assessment System during 2017 demonstrates a pharmacy's commitment to ensuring patient safety and quality of care in providing services in compliance with statutory requirements, PSI Guidance and good pharmacy practice.

In January 2018, pharmacies should commence cycle 3 of the Pharmacy Assessment System. This will facilitate a continuous cycle of ongoing compliance at your pharmacy and will help verify and sustain the improvements that you made during 2017.

To facilitate completion, pharmacies should have recently received copies of the six sections of the Assessment and an action plan booklet in the post. At this time we are only sending sufficient documentation to complete one more cycle, as we will be reviewing the Pharmacy Assessment System in the first half of 2018.

 Section Start Date
 1. Management and Supervision
 January 2018
 2. Sale and Supply of Non-Prescription Medicines
 February 2018
 3. Sale and Supply of Prescription Medicines
 March 2018
 4. Documentation and Record Keeping
 April 2018
 5. Premises, Equipment and Storage
 May 2018
 6. Supply of Medicines to Patients in Residential Care Settings
 June 2018

Advisory Visits

Between February and June 2017, PSI inspectors visited 1,826 registered pharmacies to conduct advisory visits and to answer questions in support of the introduction of the Pharmacy Assessment System, as a self-audit tool in pharmacies. All advisory visits have now been completed.

Key Statistics from the Advisory Visits

  • In 67% of pharmacies, the supervising pharmacist was present
  • 90% of pharmacies had started completing the Pharmacy Assessment System
  • 79% of pharmacies said it helped review pharmacy practice/ identify areas for improvement

There were 1,911 retail pharmacy businesses registered with the PSI as of 1 July, 2017. New pharmacies were provided with an overview of the Pharmacy Assessment System during the pre-registration process. Hospital pharmacies were not visited as part of the advisory visits.

Past Information Events

To provide information and support in the roll-out of the Pharmacy Assessment System, we held 12 information events in various locations around the country in October and November 2016 and again in March 2017. You can view the event presentation and other resources that we have available.

If you have any questions or feedback on the Pharmacy Assessment System, you can email us on inspectionproject@psi.ie.

We use cookies on our site, by continuing you agree to their use. For more information please view our Privacy Policy. Hide this message