Candidates for the 2023 election for appointment to the PSI Council

March 23, 2023
office boardroom ireland pharmacy PSI

Following the validation of nomination papers received, the Returning Officer Ms Joanne Kissane, has declared the candidates for the 2023 election of pharmacists for appointment to the Council of the PSI, in accordance with the PSI (Council) Rules 2008 and 2015.

The candidates are as follows:

  • Ms Leanne Bumster (12842)
  • Ms Eileen (Patricia) Heckmann (5144)
  • Mr Roy Hogan (5874)
  • Mr Mark Jordan (12026)
  • Mr Robert Keane (8911)
  • Ms Emily Kelly (7066)
  • Ms Sarah McGann (11960)
  • Ms Mairéad Áine McGuire (5750)
  • Mr Brian McManus (8473)
  • Mr Joseph McNeela (12237)
  • Mr Denis O’Driscoll (5673)
  • Mr Leon O’Hagan (7943)
  • Ms Caitriona O’Riordan (6771)
  • Mr Peter O’Sullivan (10001125)
  • Ms Joan Peppard (4720)

View the candidate list and their nominations

View available candidate biographies

Pharmacist Appointments to Council 2023:

As the number of nominations received is greater than the number of vacancies on the Council, an election will be held on Wednesday, 19 April 2023 with the counting of votes on Friday, 21 April to select four registered pharmacists for appointment by the Minister for Health to the Council.

By 22 March: Closing date for receipt of nominations (12 noon). The Returning Officer formally declares the candidates (after reviewing eligibility in accordance with Rule 7(2) of the PSI Council Rules), and the names and addresses of candidates (along with names of their proposers and seconders) are published on the PSI website. The electoral register is also established by the Returning Officer; this is all pharmacists on the PSI’s Register of Pharmacists on that date, all of whom are entitled to vote in the election.

By 5 April: Ballot papers are sent by post to the electoral register. The ballot paper will include: a list of candidates in alphabetical order, giving the name and address as published in the Register of Pharmacists; the area of practice as a pharmacist of each candidate; the name and address, per the Register of Pharmacists, of each candidate’s proposer and seconder. It will also provide the latest date and time for ballot papers to be returned to the Returning Officer, and instructions on the voting procedure.

By 19 April: Completed ballot papers are to be returned to the Returning Officer by 5pm on Wednesday, 19 April 2023. The counting of votes must take place within 2 days of the election date. The counting of votes is scheduled for Friday, 21 April. After the count, the Returning Officer will declare the results and give written notice to the Minister of the names of those elected. The election results, including details of the poll and count, will be published on the PSI website.

Other Information

The Council is responsible for pursuing the PSI’s mission, vision and values and for ensuring the delivery of the functions of the PSI, as the pharmacy regulator, in the public interest. This information booklet outlines the statutory role of the Council, its responsibilities, and the commitment and requirements of Council members. Relevant information can also be read in the PSI’s Corporate Governance Framework, which includes the Code of Conduct for Council and Advisory Committee members.

For the candidates standing for election to Council, the following electioneering guidelines apply:

  • Candidates are encouraged to conduct their electioneering in such a way so as to promote interest in the election.
  • Candidates, and anyone acting on their behalf, should refrain from any canvassing that may be interpreted as bringing into disrepute the profession of pharmacy or the Council of the PSI.

Read the previous notification with the call for nominations and eligibility to stand as a pharmacist member of the PSI Council.

Scheduled Council meetings for 2023 are available on the PSI website.