Pharmacy Practice Development Committee (PPD)

The role of the Pharmacy Practice Development Committee is to advise Council on the development of policy on pharmacy practice development, with a focus on improving the quality of patient care and patient outcomes. The Committee also has a role in developing evidence based standards and guidance for the provision of good pharmacy practice, including guidance to facilitate compliance with regulations made by the Minister for Health under Section 18 of the Pharmacy Act 2007.

The Terms of Reference of the Pharmacy Practice Development Committee can be found here.

The Pharmacy Practice Development Committee is scheduled to meet on the following dates in 2018:

  • Thursday, 15 March 2018
  • Thursday 3 May 2018
  • Thursday, 7 June 2018
  • Thursday, 6 September 2018
  • Thursday, 22 November 2018

Current membership of the Pharmacy Practice Development Committee:

Council Members:
Chair: Ms Ann Sheehan
Ms Nicola Cantwell, MPSI
Dr Paul Gorecki
Mr Pat O'Dowd
Ms Muireann Ní Shuilleabháin, MPSI
Dr Aoife Fleming, MPSI
Pharmacy Lecturer, University College Cork
Dr John Michael Morris, MPSI Former Director of Scientific Affairs, Health Products Regulatory Authority
Mr Leon O'Hagan, MPSI Community Pharmacist
Ms Kathleen Walsh Programme Development Officer, Pre-Hospital Emergency Care Council 

PSI Support: Mr Conor O'Leary