Archive 2010

The PSI establishes a National Pharmacy Reference Group (NPRG)

November 01, 2010

The National Pharmacy Reference Group (NPRG)

In November 2010, the PSI established a National Pharmacy Reference Group (NPRG) to progress and facilitate the implementation of Pharmacy Ireland 2020. The National Pharmacy Reference Group (NPRG) comprises practitioners, of required expertise and calibre, to participate at a strategic level to ensure active involvement of pharmacists at the appropriate decision and policy making level.

The members of the NPRG are as follows:

Professor Peter Weedle (chair), Professor Paul Gallagher, Dr Aisling O’Leary, Dr Tamasine Grimes, Dr Stephen Byrne, Dr Mark Ledwidge, Dr Caitriona Bradley, Ms Mary Rose Burke, Ms Cicely Roche, Mr Ciaran Meegan, Ms Leonora O’Brien (PSI rapporteur).

The NPRG supports and facilitates the expansion of the professional services role of the pharmacist in line with the PSI’s Pharmacy Ireland 2020 initiative; for example, pharmacist’s contribution to the National Immunisation Strategy, including the provision of the Seasonal Influenza Vaccination programme through pharmacies, was a priority initiative for the NPRG in 2011.

The HSE’s Clinical Strategy and Programmes Directorate

The NPRG also engages with the work of the HSE’s Clinical Strategy and Programmes Directorate (CSPD) on the implementation of the new clinical care programmes. The three main objectives of the care programmes are to improve the quality, access and cost effectiveness of health care services in Ireland.

The PSI has facilitated the HSE in appointing liaison pharmacists to the following clinical care programmes: Acute Medicine; Cardiovascular care; COPD; Asthma; Dermatology; Diabetes; Care of the Elderly; Heart Failure; Mental Health; Stroke; Palliative Care and Rheumatology.

Back to News List