Latest News

Rory O’Donnell re-appointed as PSI Council President

June 21, 2018

The Council of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland (PSI) has today re-elected Rory O’Donnell as President and Nicola Cantwell as Vice-President. Both served in the respective positions for the previous year.

Rory has served on the PSI Council since 2015 and is a community pharmacist with a pharmacy in Gweedore, Co. Donegal. Nicola lectures on the Pharmacy Technician Course in IT Carlow and also works as clinical governance pharmacist with Caredoc. Nicola was first appointed to the PSI Council in 2013.

The President and Vice-President will continue, with the Council, to oversee the ongoing work of the PSI including significant projects being implemented under the Corporate Strategy 2018-2020, focused on assuring public trust in pharmacy through effective regulation.

For information:
The PSI is a public body established in law to protect the health, safety and wellbeing of patients and the public by regulating pharmacists and pharmacies in Ireland.

The PSI is governed by a 21-member Council, with a non-pharmacist majority, and each member is appointed by the Minister for Health. The Council is responsible for overseeing the delivery of the functions of the PSI, in the public interest.

The term of office of Council members is four years. The term of office of the President and Vice-President is for one year.

Back to News List