Archive 2017

Election Candidates for Appointment to PSI Council

March 23, 2017

Following the validation of nomination papers received, the Returning Officer Mr Niall Byrne, has formally declared the candidates for the 2017 election of pharmacists for appointment to the Council of the PSI, in accordance with the PSI (Council) Rules 2008 and 2015.

View the candidate list and their nominees

Pharmacist Appointments to Council 2017:
As the number of nominations received is greater than the number of vacancies on the Council, an election will be held on Wednesday, 19 April 2017 with the counting of votes on Thursday, 20 April to select five registered pharmacists for appointment by the Minister for Health to the Council.

22nd March:
Closing date for receipt of nominations (12 noon). The Returning Officer formally declares the candidates (after reviewing eligibility in accordance with Rule 7(2) of the PSI Council Rules), and the names and addresses of candidates (along with names of their proposers and seconders) are published on the PSI website. The electoral register is also established by the Returning Officer; this is all pharmacists on the PSI’s Register of Pharmacists on that date, all of whom are entitled to vote in the election.

By 4th April:
Ballot papers are sent by post to the electoral register. The ballot paper will include: a list of candidates in alphabetical order, giving the name and address as published in the Register of Pharmacists; the area of practice as a pharmacist of each candidate; the name and address, per the Register of Pharmacists, of each candidate’s proposer and seconder; the latest date and time by which ballot papers shall be returned to the Returning Officer; and instructions on the voting procedure.

19th April:
Completed ballot papers are to be returned to the Returning Officer by 5pm on Wednesday, 19th April 2017. The counting of votes must take place within 2 days of the election date. After the count, the Returning Officer will declare the results and give written notice to the Minister of the names of those elected. The election results, including details of the poll and count, will be published on the PSI website.

Other Information

  • The pharmacist seats held currently on the Council by Nicola Cantwell, Richard Collis, Ann Frankish, Edward MacManus and Caroline McGrath will be up for election. Their terms of office end on 17 June 2017.
  • For the candidates standing for election to Council, the following electioneering guidelines apply:
  1. Candidates are encouraged to conduct their electioneering in such a way so as to promote interest in the election.
  2. Candidates, and anyone acting on their behalf, should refrain from any canvassing that may be interpreted as bringing into disrepute the profession of pharmacy or the Council of the PSI.
  • The Council is responsible for pursuing the PSI’s mission, vision and values and for ensuring the delivery of the functions of the PSI, as the pharmacy regulator, in the public interest. Information on the roles and responsibilities of Council members is included in the PSI’s Corporate Governance Framework. This document also contains the Code of Conduct for Council and Advisory Committee members. For additional information on the roles and functions of the PSI Council see About PSI and other relevant sections of the website.
  • Practical information in relation to Council meetings and anticipated workload of members of Council is available here.
  • Additionally, the non-pharmacist vacancies arising on PSI Council in 2017 and 2018 are now advertised on (the Public Appointments Service). The State Boards website also provides a useful overview of the role of board members along with a self-assessment questionnaire that assists in determining how a person’s interests, skills and experience might match the requirements of membership of a state board.

Back to News List